Today, if he was still alive, Bob Marley would have been 71 years old

I wanted to celebrate this inspirational man who represents an Icon for thousand of people around the world, myself included.

This man brought to light the Rastafari lifestyle and philosophy with prophetic and inspirational songs wishing for a better and peaceful world.

As I don’t really see him celebrated on this day, I decided to celebrate this important and influential figure in my life.

I wanted to write a piece on the fact that Google seemed to have forgotten to celebrate this influential Black and Afrocentric musician when I see them celebrate so many white and Eurocentric musician that nobody heard of or who will never have the influence Bob Marley had and still have, but I decided against it in the end. Google live and breath the Eurocentric world. I should really not be too surprised.

For someone like me, a Rasta girl and a Pan-African, he is more than a “smoke weed every day”spoke person. He was passionately anti-racism, shamelessly Pan-African and proud Afrocentric. He was heavily influenced by Marcus Garvey and by Haile Selassie. Most of his songs (not the mainstream ones) talk a great deal about the unity of Africa and of it Diaspora, the Uprising of the continent and its greatness. Normal that Eurocentric platforms do not celebrate him. For many of white people, Bob Marley is just about weed. His legacy is reduced to that for them.

Never mind, we can celebrate HIM without the white approbation.

Happy Birthday, Bob Marley!

Rest in Peace in your natural mystic.

Peace Out ✌🏾

Aya.

Food for the Mind:

Bob Marley – War

Bob Marley – Natural Mystic

Bob Marley – Redemption Song

Bob Marley – Positive Vibration

Bob Marley – Jah Live

Rasta and Resistance: From Marcus Garvey to Walter Rodney

Bob Marley Official Website

Wikipedia’s Page

Bob Marley’s Quotes

Rastafari Movement

 

